Q & A — Sarah Daltry

q & a

 

 

Please give a warm welcome to Sarah my guest this Friday for Q & A!

*****

button.2What were you like at school?

I’m a total nerd. I love learning and I love school. I have a BA in English and writing and two Master’s degrees. I’ve studied literature, writing, art history, and mythology extensively, as well as gathered a bunch of information over the years on history, sociology, psychology, etc. I love information. I could never know enough.

So, what have you written?

My most recent novel, Backward Compatible, just came out. It’s a YA gamer geek romantic comedy, in the vein of Scott Pilgrim and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. It was named #1 of 2013 from several blogs. I’ve also written Bitter Fruits, the first in an NA urban fantasy series based on Biblical mythology, and the Flowering series, a contemporary New Adult steamy coming of age romance series. There are three books in that series so far – Forget Me Not, Lily of the Valley, and Star of Bethlehem.

What are you working on at the minute?

I am in the middle of many things. A YA fantasy called Primordial Dust, Blue Rose in the Flowering series, Immortal Star in the Eden’s Falltrilogy, and another contemporary novel with Pete Clark, my cowriter on Backward Compatible. I am also finishing up edits and revisions (as well as tweaking the last few sections) of a novella based on TS Eliot’s The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock. It’s a stream of consciousness modern reimagining of the poem in today’s society. It should be out soon.reviews (1)

What genre are your books?

They are all over the place. Flowering is contemporary romance, Eden’s Fallis a mix of urban fantasy and romance, Backward Compatible is YA comedy, and I’m writing things that range from horror to romance to fantasy. I don’t feel like genre is as important to me because plot is secondary to character. I love characters and the ways in which they interact. That’s what I focus on in writing.

Have you written any other novels in collaboration with other writers?

Backward Compatible was co-written with Pete Clark. We are currently working on something else together, and several people have requested more of the characters from Backward Compatible. I don’t know if there is another story with them yet, but we shall see. I am also working on a sexy NA fantasy romance with Scarlett Dawn right now as well.

ebookcover_amazonWhy do you write?

This is a little personal, I suppose, but I always loved reading. As I said, I was a nerd and that meant I had few friends. I moved when I was younger and I suffer from severe depression and anxiety. All of this led me to retreat into stories because I didn’t seem to fit in during my school years. There were a lot of times I didn’t want to keep going, but those stories gave me a reason to stay alive. I want to write stories that do that for someone else. I know it sounds arrogant, but I hope that someone finds joy and escape in my stories, even though I don’t write escapism at all.

Do you read much and if so who are your favourite authors.

I read a ton, although I tend to stick to classics and YA. I love Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Salinger, the Brontes, etc. I also really like Alice Sebold, Courtney Summers, Jo Knowles, Maureen Johnson, Libba Bray, Patrick Ness, Laini Taylor, Cassandra Clare, etc. I don’t have a favorite genre really. I love realistic fiction because it breaks my heart, but I also love fantasy and horror and sci-fi and humor. I just love to read. I love stories in any form – books, movies, video games, and so on.song

For your own reading, do you prefer ebooks or traditional paper/hard back books?

For convenience, ebooks, but I will still buy the physical copies of my favorites. I like having my favorite books in book form. I read ebooks faster and I’m trying to cut down on clutter so I like ebooks, since my library bookshelves are all overflowing.

Tell us about the cover/s and how it/they came about.

The cover of Backward Compatible is an homage to old school gaming and I think anyone who knows games will recognize the book for what it is immediately. It was designed by Shoutlines Design.

1 (1)Do you have a trailer or do you intend to create one for your own book/s?

There is a trailer, as well as the “Gamer Nerd’s Love Song” in video. Here are the links:

Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-0qwqxUYTw

Love Song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dce-MfzrfXE

How do you relax?

I play a lot of video games. 🙂

What is your favourite film and why?

It changes all the time. Some of my favorites are Atonement, Equilibrium, Moulin Rouge, Cabin in the Woods, American Beauty, Life if Beautiful Silver Linings Playbook, The Way, Way Back, Knocked Up, Casablanca, Homeward Bound, and Shakespeare in Love. As you can see, I am not particular to genre. All of these are well-written, well-acted, and impacted me somehow. Either because they were really funny, really insightful, or really emotional.

*****

You can keep up with Sarah with any one of these fine social media outlets!

Website/Blog:http://sarahdaltry.com
Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/SarahDaltryAuthor
Twitter:
http://twitter.com/SarahDaltry
Amazon Author Page:
http://www.amazon.com/Sarah-Daltry/e/B00BVV0F5W/ref=pd_sim_kstore_bl_2
Smashwords:
https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/sarahdaltry
Book Links: 
http://www.amazon.com/Backward-Compatible-Geek-Love-Story-ebook/dp/B00H6WHM0G/ref=sr_1_8?s=books&qid=1386597036&sr=1-8

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Q & A — Sarah Daltry

  1. Thank you for drawing attention to Ana Rubio, a committed researcher and talented writer who devotes such efforts not to forget the Nazi nightmare. It should be remembered, for it’s like the Hydra: you cut off one head and another springs up from the gush.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s